Welcome to the Annual Scientific Meeting 2012 website for the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA). This year the meeting took place at the University of New South Wales, Sydney from July 2nd - 6th. The Harley Wood Winter School will take place at Wentworth Falls, in the Blue Mountains from June 28th - July 1st.

As always there was a broad range of topics covered during the week, with some sessions based around this year's themes of Antarctic Astronomy and Extrasolar planets.

News and Events

Registration Closed

The programme of the meeting and Details concerning formats of oral and poster contributions (including interactive poster information) are now available.

The welcome reception was held in the Tyree Room of the John Niland Scientia Building (see map indicating the Scientia Building).

NEW Several talks and sparklers can be downloaded from the program

NEW Photogallery from the Harley Wood Winter School and the ASA conference

coming soon: links to talks and posters

You can become a member of the 'ASA Annual Scientific Meeting 2012' forum on Facebook to check on the latest updates, ask questions and discuss issues relevant to the meeting. Please use this link.

The ASA confirmed invited speakers were:

Dr Tamara Davis Cosmology and the Accelerating Universe (University of Queensland)
Dr Mike Keith Millisecond Pulsars: The weird and the wonderful (CASS)
Professor Karl Glazebrook Eppur si muove (Swinburne University of Technology)
Dr Jose Bellido Caceres The Highest Energy Cosmic Rays (University of Adelaide)
Dr Christoph Federrath Turbulence in the ISM (Monash University)
Dr Tim Bedding A Golden Age of Asteroseismology with NASA's Kepler mission (University of Sydney)
Dr Holger Baumgardt The star cluster formation history of the LMC (University of Queensland)
Dr Daniel Bayliss Searches for Extrasolar planets (ANU)
Professor Tim Slater Teaching First Year University Astronomy (University of Wyoming)
Dr Magda Arnaboldi VISTA (ESO Garching)
Dr Lisa Fogarty SAMI (University of Sydney)
Dr John Morgan Widefield VLBI as a survey tool (ICRAR)
Dr Lisa Harvey-Smith SKA update (CASS)

This year's prizewinners are:

Charlene Heisler Prize (for PhD thesis completed in the previous year) - Anthony Van Eysden
Louise Webster Prize (for an early career researcher) - Sean Farrell
Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy (for Honours Thesis) - Alison Hammond

List of registered participants

Dates and Deadlines:

* Early registration: 15th May 2012
* Abstract Submission Oral: 15th May 2012
* Abstract Submission Poster: 15th June 2012
(Poster requests will be considered after this date, but this is the deadline for abstracts to be included in the conference booklet.)
* Release of program, including contributed talks: 1st June 2012
* Booking student accommodation in New College: 30th April (after this date students will no longer have priority)

Harley Wood Lecture (Public):

A Wealth of New Planets

Prof Chris Tinney (UNSW)
Tues. 3 July 2012, at 7 pm
UNSW Physics Lecture Theatre

Related Links