Organising Committees
Conference Dinner
Catering Details
Registration Details

Scientific organising committee:

Maria Cunningham Chair (UNSW)
Lucyna Chudczer (UNSW)
Rob Hollow (CASS, CSIRO)
Elaine Sadler (Uinveristy of Sydney)
Daniel Price (Monash)
Orsola De Marco (Macquarie)
Ray Protheroe (Adelaide)
J-P Macquart (ICRAR)
Amanda Karakas (ANU)
Michael Drinkwater (UQ)

Local organising committee:

Lucyna Chudczer Chair (UNSW)
Maria Cunningham (UNSW)
Graeme Salter (UNSW)
Shane Hengst (UNSW)

Jonathan Horner (UNSW)
Duncan Wright (UNSW)
Jon Everett (UNSW)
Gavin Rowell (University of Adelaide)
Orsola De Marco (Macquarie University)

News updates, as they come out, will be on the home page.

Conference Opening
The welcome receptionwas held on Sunday July 1st at 6pm in the Tyree Room of the John Niland Scientia Building (see map indicating the Scientia Building)

Conference Dinner
The conference dinner was a harbour cruise on the ship "Starship" with Sydney Harbor Escapes departing from Man O'War Steps at 6:30pm, and returning to the the Man O'War Steps at 10:30pm.

The Bus numbers to go directly to Circular Quay (the end of the line) from UNSW are: 392, 394 and 399 and can be caught on Anzac Parade on the opposite side to UNSW. The last of these buses which can get you to the Man-O-War steps in time for the conference dinner would be the 5:04pm, 5:09pm, and 5:14 for the 392, 399 and 394 respectively. You must purchase pre-paid bus tickets which can be sourced from a store near the bus stop on Anzac Parade. These will arrive at Circular Quay around 6pm which should just leave sufficient time to walk to the Man-O-War steps.

View Man O'War Steps in a larger map

Catering details
Morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea was provided at the conference. They were in the poster room on the 2nd floor of the Old Main Building, the same building the conference is held in. A rough outline of the menus is below:

Morning tea

A selection of Gastronomy's handmade biscuits

Lunch sample menu

Selection of gourmet sandwiches on a variety of breads including multigrain, white, wholemeal, rye, Turkish, bagels, baguettes and wraps


Selection of cheese and lavoshe Dessert item such as: Cookies and cream baked cheesecake


3 salads such as: Fresh corn, roast capsicum, and broccoli salad with mustard seed and almond Mushroom, beansprout, shredded steamed bok choy and sesame soy salad Chat and parsley salad with wholegrain mustard and capers

Afternoon tea

A selection of Gastronomy's handmade biscuits

Morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea include:

  • Fair Trade coffee and black teas, a selection of herbal teas at breaks
  • Chilled water and mints at breaks
  • Orange juice and mineral water at morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea


Abstracts should preferably be submitted at the same time as registration. If submitted later, please send them to Please note that abstracts submitted after deadlines for oral or poster presentations will not be considered.

Note: Authors presenting papers at the ASM are generally restricted to financial ASA members (paid up by 30 June). However authors may present a paper once as a non-member.


Registration includes the opening reception, the conference dinner, lunches Monday to Thursday, and morning and afternoon tea.

Early Registration (until 15th May)

student $290.00
member $390.00
retired member $290.00
non member $440.00
non member student $340.00
invited speakers No charge

Registration (after 15th May)

student $340.00
member $440.00
retired member $340.00

non member $490.00
non member student $390.00
invited speakers No charge

Making Payments

If you still have outstanding payments toward this years ASA please contact to discuss the situation.


© School of Physics 2012